What Etsy has published, and when
This is a test, not a launch, and Etsy has said so in three different places. The dates come from Etsy’s own help-centre metadata, not from a press report.
| Date (UTC) | Page | What it is |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-09-14, edited 09-24 | How Printed Items From Digital Purchases Work for Sellers | The seller-facing rules, eligibility and the opt-out |
| 2026-09-18 | How to Order a Printed Item From a Digital File on Etsy | The buyer-facing walkthrough and the product list |
| 2026-09-22 | Newly Crafted: Etsy Updates for Your Shop, September 2026 | The announcement, listed among ordinary feature news |
The seller page opens with this:
Etsy is testing a new way for buyers to turn eligible digital files they purchase on Etsy’s website into printed items. If you have eligible digital listings, they may be included in this test automatically. You can opt out if you don’t want your eligible listings to be included.
And the announcement puts it more plainly still:
After purchasing select digital items, buyers can choose from available print options and complete a separate checkout for the physical item. You won’t be responsible for producing or shipping the order.
Three conditions decide whether a shop is in it, quoted from the seller page: the shop is based in the US or Canada; the seller does not already offer a physical version of the design or use their own print-on-demand integration; and “The file meets the print partner’s requirements for high-quality printing.” What those requirements are is not stated anywhere on the page, and that gap matters more than it sounds. More on it below.
Nine things a download can become, and the five that hang on a wall
The buyer page lists what the print options “may include”, so the list is not stated to be complete. As published, it is nine items:
| Product | Goes on a wall |
|---|---|
| Indoor wall tapestries | Yes |
| Framed posters | Yes |
| Matte canvases | Yes |
| Metal art signs | Yes |
| Rolled posters | Yes |
| Coffee mugs | No |
| Canvas tote bags | No |
| Greeting cards | No |
| Crewneck sweatshirt | No |
Five of the nine are wall decor. If you make or buy printable art, those five are the ones worth thinking about, and they have wildly different shapes. A tapestry, a square canvas and a rolled poster will not all take the same file without something being cut off.
”Cropped slightly” in centimetres
Here is the sentence, from step four of Etsy’s buyer walkthrough:
Preview your item and make sure it looks the way you want. Your image may be cropped slightly to fit the selected item.
Etsy has not published which sizes or shapes Ventur Editions offers, so the table below is our own illustration rather than a list of real products. What it shows is the arithmetic that the word “slightly” is hiding. The rule is simple: to fill a frame of a different shape without squashing the picture, the printer scales the image until it covers the frame and cuts the overflow.
| Your file | Printed on a product of this shape | What gets cut | You lose |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2:3, say 40 by 60 cm | 4:5 | The long edge, 60 cm becomes 50 cm | 10.0 cm, 16.7% |
| 2:3, say 20 by 30 cm | 3:4 | The long edge, 30 cm becomes 26.7 cm | 3.3 cm, 11.1% |
| 3:4, say 30 by 40 cm | 4:5 | The long edge, 40 cm becomes 37.5 cm | 2.5 cm, 6.2% |
| ISO A4, 21 by 29.7 cm | 2:3 | The width, 21 cm becomes 19.8 cm | 1.2 cm, 5.7% |
| 4:5, say 40 by 50 cm | 2:3 | The width, 40 cm becomes 33.3 cm | 6.7 cm, 16.7% |
| 2:3, say 40 by 60 cm | 1:1 | The long edge, 60 cm becomes 40 cm | 20.0 cm, 33.3% |
So “slightly” runs from about 1 cm to 20 cm on these shapes. At the bottom of that table, a third of the picture is gone. At the top, you would struggle to notice.
What this means in practice is ordinary and worth saying kindly: the crop is not a flaw in the system, it is what happens when a 2:3 picture meets a 4:5 object. The preview screen is doing you a real favour. Use it. Check the top and bottom of the image for anything you care about, because on a long-edge crop that is exactly where the cut lands, usually half at each end.
Two things to note before you borrow these numbers. First, they assume the printer fills the product and crops, which is the normal behaviour and which Etsy’s wording implies. A printer that instead adds a white border loses nothing from the image, and Etsy’s page does not say which happens. Second, nothing here is about resolution. A file big enough for a 30 by 40 cm print is not automatically big enough for a 60 by 90 cm canvas, and the “print partner’s requirements” that decide that have not been published.
Whose shop sells it, and where the review lands
This is the part sellers noticed first, and Etsy’s pages are unusually direct about it:
Ventur Editions, a third party print provider, sells and fulfills the printed item from their shop:
Followed by two bullets, quoted in full: “The printed item has its own listing and reviews.” and “If there’s an issue with the order, Ventur Editions provides support.”
The buyer page says the same thing from the other side: “Ventur Editions is the seller and you will be checking out from their shop”, and “Your printed item is a new order from Ventur Editions, separate from the digital file you purchased from an Etsy seller.”
So on Etsy’s own account, the print is a separate order, in a separate shop, with its own reviews and its own support. For a buyer, that is the thing to remember if the parcel arrives wrong: the shop that sold you the file is not the shop that printed it, and the person who can fix it is Ventur Editions.
This happened once before, in 2022
Etsy ran a version of this four years ago, and the difference is instructive. As Value Added Resource reported at the time, buyers were offered the option to “print or frame digital downloads bought on Etsy”, and Etsy’s own wording was that it would “direct the buyer to Shutterfly or Printify’s website to explore different printing and framing options and to place an order for that service.”
Off Etsy, in other words. This time, as the same publication notes, Etsy’s description is “sold, printed, and fulfilled by a third-party print-on-demand provider, on Etsy.” The transaction stays inside the marketplace, inside a shop with listings and reviews.
The 2022 test also answered a question this one has not. Its seller FAQ said plainly: “Q: Do I have to pay anything for this? A: No, there is no cost to you or any action required on your end.” The 2026 pages say nothing either way about money flowing to the seller whose design is being printed.
What sellers are saying, and what the pages confirm
Seller discussion started in the last days of September. We are not quoting handles or threads here, because none of it is evidence of anything except that people are saying it. What is worth doing is setting the common claims against Etsy’s own pages.
| What sellers are saying | What Etsy’s pages actually say |
|---|---|
| You are opted in by default and have to opt out yourself | Confirmed. “Eligible sellers are included in this test automatically. You can opt out any time.” |
| The opt-out is per shop, not per listing | Confirmed. “For this test, the opt-out applies to your shop rather than individual listings.” |
| Opting out stops the buyer using your file elsewhere | Not confirmed, and contradicted. “It doesn’t prevent buyers from independently accessing Ventur Editions’ services with the content they’ve downloaded.” |
| The digital seller is paid nothing from the print sale | Not addressed. No Etsy page we read says either way. |
| A bad print will land as a bad review on your shop | Not confirmed. Etsy says the printed item “has its own listing and reviews” and tells buyers to review the Ventur Editions order. |
| Some shops cannot see the setting yet | Consistent with it being a test. Etsy’s pages describe a test, not a full rollout. |
The opt-out path, for anyone who wants it, is four steps, quoted from the seller page: go to Shop Manager, select Settings, select Options, then “Go to Allow buyers to purchase digital prints and select Disabled.”
What nobody has published yet
A short and honest list, because this is where most of the interesting questions live.
Sizes. No dimensions for any of the nine products, in centimetres or inches. Without them, nobody can say what the crop will be on a real order.
Prices. Not published for any product, and not visible before a digital purchase.
Paper and finish. Nothing on weight, finish, ink or colour profile for the posters and canvases.
File requirements. The eligibility condition points at “the print partner’s requirements”, which are not published. For context, Etsy’s own digital-listing rules cap each uploaded file at 20 MB, allow up to five files per listing, and do not list .tif, .svg, .ai or .psd among the supported types. A 20 MB cap is a real constraint on a large-format print file.
Payment to the original seller. Unaddressed in 2026, explicitly addressed in 2022.
Who Ventur Editions is. Etsy names the shop and calls it a third-party print provider. Beyond that, we found nothing published by Etsy or by the shop itself that we could verify, so we are not going to speculate about it here.
If you buy printables
Use the preview, and look at the ends. On a long-edge crop, the cut comes off the top and bottom. That is where a signature, a horizon or the bottom of a plant tends to be.
Match the shape, not just the size. If the file is 2:3 and you want it on a 4:5 product, you are giving up about a sixth of the height before you start. Picking the product closest in shape to the file costs nothing and saves the crop.
Remember you are in two shops. The file came from one seller, the print comes from Ventur Editions, and the support for the print comes from Ventur Editions too.
If you sell printables
Decide on the opt-out deliberately, not by default. You are in automatically if you are eligible. Four clicks in Shop Manager puts you out. Either answer can be right; the thing to avoid is finding out from a customer.
Know what the opt-out does not do. It stops the print option appearing after a purchase of your listing. It does not stop a buyer taking the file to the same print shop themselves.
If you already sell a physical version, you are probably not eligible anyway. That is one of the three stated conditions, and it is the one most likely to apply to a shop that does both.
Sources
- Etsy, “How Printed Items From Digital Purchases Work for Sellers”, created 14 September 2026, edited 24 September 2026: help.etsy.com
- Etsy, “How to Order a Printed Item From a Digital File on Etsy”, 18 September 2026: help.etsy.com
- Etsy, “Newly Crafted: Etsy Updates for Your Shop”, September 2026 section, edited 22 September 2026: help.etsy.com
- Etsy, “How to Manage Your Digital Listings”, on the 20 MB and five-file limits: help.etsy.com
- Value Added Resource, “Etsy Adds Shared Shop Access, More Listing Options & Expanded Appeals”, 22 September 2026: valueaddedresource.net
- Value Added Resource, on the 2022 Printify and Shutterfly test, 17 October 2022: valueaddedresource.net
The crop table is our own arithmetic, built from the ratios named in it. Etsy has not published the sizes Ventur Editions offers, so it is an illustration of what a ratio mismatch costs and not a list of real products.
Pin this guide
Worth keeping if you buy or sell printable art on Etsy. The crop table is the part to have open the moment you see a print preview, because the shape of your file decides how much of it survives.
-
Pin 1 of 2, save to Pinterest -
Pin 2 of 2, save to Pinterest